Perspectacles

Today I’m wearing my perspectacles as I sit at Dana Farber Cancer Center. My diagnosis pales in comparison to the many beautiful adults and children that are fighting for their lives here.

That includes my mom who has been battling Stage IV Melanoma for the last 4 years!  That alone has been it’s own miracle.

While her cancer is terminal, we come in for scans every three months to monitor the disease’s progression. So far, it’s been “stable”.

Hopeful for another “stable” report today and continued health. She doesn’t have a single ache or pain yet although cancer has invaded her whole body.

And because life can’t help itself but to throw more at you, when we walked in my phone rang and I learned that my beloved Godfather (her brother) was just diagnosed with thyroid cancer. The journey begins for another.

So whenever you are feeling low, remember to put on your perspectacles. Life can be so harsh but is much, much more beautiful if you stop and absorb each and every moment.

Leave a comment